Ashtanga habit

I’ve started an ashtanga practice for about two months now. I took a few classes in the studio and started a home practice. I felt this was my best option since I moved to the province where I wouldn’t have access to a yoga shala.

I wake up at 530am every morning to practice until half of the primary series then proceed to the backbends and finishing asanas. However,  I always felt distracted and unfocused. I would stop after each vinyasa and ‘rest’ such that a 75min practice turns into a 120min one!

Good thing Patrick Beach is coming to Manila! After second thoughts and lots of encouragement from a good friend,  I finally registered! Since then, I felt it was a good motivator for my practice.  I’ve been practicing more regularly and with more awareness.

I’ve also moved my practice to the evenings. I finally let go of the idea that I must always practice in the morning. Maybe one day, I’ll shift to a morning practice again but for now I’m happy.

In other news, I’ve noticed how negative I’ve been recently (or maybe I’ve always been?). I think my yoga practice has helped me become more aware of my automatic reactions to the people around me; and helped me rethink about the person I want to be.

I’m surprised at how my ashtanga practice has evolved.  I thought I’ll get bored with the same sequence everyday but I’m elated at how my practice has become a quiet and relaxing space for me. I’ve become more present in my practice. My mind doesn’t wander as much and I don’t feel as attached when I can’t kick to a pincha mayurasana.

Leave a comment