Practicing on lazy days

I’ve been attending classes under an Authorized teacher this year. And I’ve gained so much progress – physically and mentally!

My teacher has recently given me Dropbacks – and I’m confronted with my doubts and fears each time I’m on the mat. Instead of feeling happy after I finish the mountain of Bhujapidasana, Supta Kurmasana and Garbha Pindasana (all of which I have so much to practice on), I now feel a bigger mountain is on its way.

Without my teacher with me everyday, I struggle to practice this without any assists. So I just do hanging backbends (no dropping); and I just rock from my Urdhva Dhanurasana.

Last night, I was reading through some blog posts about the practice and I found one saying that a few months after their visit to Mysore, the magic is lost, bubbles are burst. They feel lethargic and find it difficult to get to the mat in the morning. And I thought to myself. Good thing, that hasn’t happened to me yet this year. Ever since I’ve gone to my teacher in January and April and recently the last weekend, I feel very motivated. I even have to force myself to take the rest day. Then this morning, I felt so lethargic! It was actually a struggle on the mat, constantly tempting me to cut the practice short. But I persisted. Hooray. It was a challenging (mental) practice – but I’m still glad I did. I was so tired I wanted to take a 20min nap after savasana.

My practice has gotten longer -since my teacher gave me the whole primary series. Then recently giving me dropbacks to practice. So I do my 3 Urdhva Dhanurasanas, then 3 Wheels walking my hands closer to my feet the first with my head down, then without, then trying to rock back up (and failing lol). Then 3 times of trying to just hang from standing. I can feel reaching to parts of my spine I’ve never accessed before. So I think my body is still getting used to this increased physical activity – and my mind debating and bargaining with me each time also takes a lot of energy. So I have lots to practice.

This lethargic feeling is still with me now (after practice). And I remember the lesson from my mat, I can choose how my next breath will be – mindful and full of energy or succumb to my laziness. Namaste!

Leave a comment